Rose's Study Blog

November 7, 2009

FOC09 Social Networks

Filed under: Uncategorized — rosannew @ 3:36 pm

Well I have a facebook page which I usually hardly ever use but I can see how facebook can work well as a networking opportunity. A south african from work, and his wife, use it to get in touch with friends and family in South Africa. They use it on a daily basis. For myself, It doesn’t work so well as my friends that I would like to contact on it, aren’t on it! Frankly, I find email works just as well for me but this may just be habit rather than anything else. LinkedIn I have tried to access a couple of times before and seem to get tied up in some red tape and never actually get onto the network. I have unwittingly used Ning for the eFest conference. As far as these all go, I actually like Facebook. I was interested in Herve’s comments about security in these sites though. How big is the risk, and in comparison to using other social networking tools, are some more secure than others? I would hate my information to be stolen and used against me. How likely is this to happen? I would never, for instance, give my password in response to an email request as I has happened on Facebook recently. Is it more that people just don’t think about security issues when they are using them, that makes these sites more vulnerable? I know my husband is quite paranoid about security issus, but I am more blase. This may be due to usually networking at work, where my stuff is more protected (I think, or is it?)

Anyway, I decided to make full use of my Facebook page for a week to see what happened. I found it pretty good in that I did connect with some old friends ( one who also uses LinkedIn). I enjoyed seeing her photos and catching up with her. Professionally there may even be a possible work relationship there. What I didn’t enjoy about Facebook was the amount of people coming up as potential friends who were all ex-staff members or current staff members. I really don’t want to connect with the majority of these people. However, that is the one of the tools isn’t it, that you accept or not when people invite you to be friends. it does make me wonder how often my face popped up to these same people! I have also helped my husband get onto facebook (he is pretty computer illiterate) and as a social networking tool we both quite like it. I just have to get motivated and use it at home (it is blocked at my work). But it was easy to use, loading photos was a bit of a pain, slow…but generally it is a good social networking tool and a great way to get in touch with old friends. As far as facilitating it, well it doesn’t appear to really need it. Why would you facilitate a Facebook page? To me it is about connecting with people. I think keeping a close eye on your page and what people post to your wall is important, so maybe it is something you moderate rather than facilitate.

4 Comments »

  1. I think there are some common-sense things you can do to keep safe like not give out passwords etc. And use decent software that checks your computer for spyware etc. There’s no doubt about it, Facebook has its down sides but I find it easier to use than Ning. In the end, is it down to preferences & what works best for you?

    Comment by Sarah Stewart — November 8, 2009 @ 10:48 am | Reply

  2. Hey Rosanne,
    I dont own any farms ,nor am i a leading mafia but i use facebook daily,I get to see my family and friends latest updates and pictures, wish there was a quiz on facebook checking wheter i am addicted to it lol
    Since the purpose of FB is social networking will be difficult to facilitate…not possible
    But its entirely upto the user to disclose information,be very sure before sharing it else things can get messy.
    There was this news in times online : Wife blows MI6 chief’s cover on Facebook (http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article6639521.ece).
    There you go…
    Good luck for today,See you soon.Meena

    Comment by Meena — November 16, 2009 @ 6:13 pm | Reply

    • Hi Meena,
      I am not a big user of online networks but now this course has inspired me! I am glad you liked Joyce Seitzinger’s blog, she is a very onto it lady and lots of fun as well. Thanks for attending the online meeting, I’ve still got a lot to learn but now I am feeling inspired. I have commented on your forum (I think) for your asynchronous meeting.

      Comment by rosannew — November 16, 2009 @ 8:30 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

